Restore the focused workspace after quitting - #58392
Merged
Merged
Conversation
yara-blue
reviewed
Jun 5, 2026
On quit, the handler activates every workspace in each window to surface save prompts. Activating re-serializes the multi-workspace state, so the persisted active_workspace_id ended up pointing at whichever workspace was iterated last rather than the one the user had focused. On the next launch the wrong (or empty) workspace was restored as active, even though all projects still appeared in Open Recent. Re-activate the originally-focused workspace after the close-prompt loop (and on the cancel-quit path) so it is the one serialized as active. Also harden read_serialized_multi_workspaces to prefer a workspace with paths over a scratch/empty one when the persisted active workspace can't be matched. Release Notes: - Fixed the focused project not being restored when reopening a window
Veykril
force-pushed
the
push-kmtxpmrzuqzo
branch
from
June 5, 2026 09:23
7e10fa6 to
fea4362
Compare
osiewicz
approved these changes
Jun 5, 2026
TomPlanche
pushed a commit
to TomPlanche/zed
that referenced
this pull request
Jun 8, 2026
On quit, the handler activates every workspace in each window to surface save prompts. Activating re-serializes the multi-workspace state, so the persisted active_workspace_id ended up pointing at whichever workspace was iterated last rather than the one the user had focused. On the next launch the wrong (or empty) workspace was restored as active, even though all projects still appeared in Open Recent. Re-activate the originally-focused workspace after the close-prompt loop (and on the cancel-quit path) so it is the one serialized as active. Also harden read_serialized_multi_workspaces to prefer a workspace with paths over a scratch/empty one when the persisted active workspace can't be matched. Release Notes: - Fixed a workspace restoration issue where zed would restore a window with none of its projects opened by default
This was referenced Jun 18, 2026
Closed
This was referenced Jul 1, 2026
This was referenced Jul 10, 2026
jonx
pushed a commit
to jonx/zed-aros
that referenced
this pull request
Jul 17, 2026
On quit, the handler activates every workspace in each window to surface save prompts. Activating re-serializes the multi-workspace state, so the persisted active_workspace_id ended up pointing at whichever workspace was iterated last rather than the one the user had focused. On the next launch the wrong (or empty) workspace was restored as active, even though all projects still appeared in Open Recent. Re-activate the originally-focused workspace after the close-prompt loop (and on the cancel-quit path) so it is the one serialized as active. Also harden read_serialized_multi_workspaces to prefer a workspace with paths over a scratch/empty one when the persisted active workspace can't be matched. Release Notes: - Fixed a workspace restoration issue where zed would restore a window with none of its projects opened by default
jolutz
pushed a commit
to jolutz/zed
that referenced
this pull request
Aug 8, 2026
On quit, the handler activates every workspace in each window to surface save prompts. Activating re-serializes the multi-workspace state, so the persisted active_workspace_id ended up pointing at whichever workspace was iterated last rather than the one the user had focused. On the next launch the wrong (or empty) workspace was restored as active, even though all projects still appeared in Open Recent. Re-activate the originally-focused workspace after the close-prompt loop (and on the cancel-quit path) so it is the one serialized as active. Also harden read_serialized_multi_workspaces to prefer a workspace with paths over a scratch/empty one when the persisted active workspace can't be matched. Release Notes: - Fixed a workspace restoration issue where zed would restore a window with none of its projects opened by default
This file contains hidden or bidirectional Unicode text that may be interpreted or compiled differently than what appears below. To review, open the file in an editor that reveals hidden Unicode characters.
Learn more about bidirectional Unicode characters
Sign up for free
to join this conversation on GitHub.
Already have an account?
Sign in to comment
Add this suggestion to a batch that can be applied as a single commit.This suggestion is invalid because no changes were made to the code.Suggestions cannot be applied while the pull request is closed.Suggestions cannot be applied while viewing a subset of changes.Only one suggestion per line can be applied in a batch.Add this suggestion to a batch that can be applied as a single commit.Applying suggestions on deleted lines is not supported.You must change the existing code in this line in order to create a valid suggestion.Outdated suggestions cannot be applied.This suggestion has been applied or marked resolved.Suggestions cannot be applied from pending reviews.Suggestions cannot be applied on multi-line comments.Suggestions cannot be applied while the pull request is queued to merge.Suggestion cannot be applied right now. Please check back later.
On quit, the handler activates every workspace in each window to surface save prompts. Activating re-serializes the multi-workspace state, so the persisted active_workspace_id ended up pointing at whichever workspace was iterated last rather than the one the user had focused. On the next launch the wrong (or empty) workspace was restored as active, even though all projects still appeared in Open Recent.
Re-activate the originally-focused workspace after the close-prompt loop (and on the cancel-quit path) so it is the one serialized as active. Also harden read_serialized_multi_workspaces to prefer a workspace with paths over a scratch/empty one when the persisted active workspace can't be matched.
Release Notes: